FALVEY MEMORIAL LIBRARY

You are exploring: VU > Home > Research > Subject Guides > Graduate & Undergraduate Business

Graduate & Undergraduate Business


Tips for Access to Library Resources

  • The simplest way to initiate library research is to open up your favorite browser and go directly to library.villanova.edu.  MyNova is great for University information, tools and  email but does not enhance the online library experience.
  • Library subscription databases are authenticated with a single sign on.  Once you login to a single database with your Villanova email user name and password you will have access to all others. 
  • You will not be able to access known library resources by simply Googling them. 
  • Firewalls at workplaces are a common impediment to accessing library databases.  To avoid this problem find an open network connection elsewhere.  Few employers IT departments are willing to adjust firewalls.
  • Benefit can be gained by working within the Villanova gateway particularly if the authentication process for a library resources is malfunctioning.  To do this go to gateway.villanova.edu.  Log in with your Villanova email user name and password and start the network connection.  This will allow you to use library resources within a secure connection.

  Choosing the Right Database

Knowing which database to use is half the battle.  Asking professors, classmates and librarians for recommendations is often helpful.  When asking for suggestions about what sources to use, remember to provide a concise description of what information you think you need, describing how you would like to use the information.  Library database descriptions try to convey database content, but sometimes you will need to log on to the database to see or use database help tools.  To find out if we subscribe to a database:

  Get Full Text Article or Journal

  APA Citations

  Industry and Market Research Reports

  Company Profiles

  Country Business Profiles

  Finding Scholarly Studies

In business disciplines scholarly studies can take the form of books, journal articles,  working papers or reports.  Types of scholarly studies include theoretical papers, literature reviews or meta-analysis, and empirical research either quantitative and qualitative or mixed method. 

There are several dominant avenues for finding scholarly work:
  • Searching subject specific databases
  • Using general purpose and interdisciplinary search engines
  • Chasing citations in articles and books (see section on getting full text or article or journal)

 Subject Specific Scholarly Databases

 General & Interdisciplinary Databases

 Business Databases A-Z

  ABI/INFORM Complete (ProQuest)

  Accounting & Tax Periodicals (ProQuest)

  Advertising Age Datacenter

  Advertising Redbooks

  Audit Analytics

  Banking Information Source (ProQuest)

  Better Business Bureau (BBB) Information System

  BizMiner

  Business Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCO)

  Business Expert Press

  Business Regional News (Ebscohost)

  Business Source Premier (EBSCO)

  CQ Researcher (SAGE)

  Cabell’s Directories of Publishing Opportunities

  Canadian Business & Current Affairs - CBCA - Complete (ProQuest)

  Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)

  Computer Science Index (EBSCO)

  Conference Board Business & Economics Portfolio

  Congressional Publications (ProQuest)

  Data-Planet

  EDGAR

  EconLibrary

  EconLit with Full Text (EBSCO)

  Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU)

  Emerald Journal Database

  Emerging Markets Information Service (EMIS)

  Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest)

  European Patent Office (from EI Village)

  FED in Print

  Financial Times

  Foundation Directory Online Professional

  Gale Directory Library

  Global Financial Data

  Global New Products Database (Mintel)

  HeinOnline

  Hoover's Company Profiles (ProQuest)

  IBIS World

  IEEE Xplore

  Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)

  JSTOR

  Journal Citation Reports (JCR)

  Leadership Directory

  Lexis Nexis Academic

  MarketLine Company Profiles

  MarketResearch

  Mergent Online

  Mergent WebReports

  Mintel Reports

  Morningstar Investment Research Center

  NetAdvantage (Standard & Poor's, Capital IQ)

  New York Times Historical [Fulltext from 1851-1999]

  OECD iLibrary

  Onesource/Avention

  Oxford Dictionary of National Biography

  Oxford English Dictionary

  PAISArchive [1915-1976]

  Euromonitor (Passport)

  Pharmaceutical News Index (ProQuest)

  Philadelphia Business Journal (American City Business Journals)

  Philadelphia Inquirer

  Polling the Nations

  ProQuest Asian Business & Reference

  ProQuest Business Periodicals (ProQuest)

  ProQuest Computing

  ProQuest European Business

  ProQuest Snapshot Series

  ProQuest Telecommunications

  PsycARTICLES (ProQuest)

  RIA Checkpoint (Thomson Reuters)

  ReferenceUSA

  Roper Center for Public Opinion Research

  SRDS (Kantar Media)

  ScienceDirect (Elsevier)

  Social Sciences Citation Index (Thomson Reuters)

  Sports Business Research Network

  Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) Search

  Statistical Insight (ProQuest)

  ThomasNet Register of American Manufacturers

  US Patent Full-text and Image Database

  United States Patent and Trademark Office: Trademark database

  Uniworld

  Value Line Investment Survey

  Venture Capital & Private Equity Firms

  WARC

  WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services)

  WorldCat (OCLC)

  ebrary

lhauck Linda Hauck
Business Librarian
Falvey Library, Villanova University
800 Lancaster Avenue
Villanova , PA , 19085
Room 222
610-519-8744


dlambert Dennis Lambert
Coordinator of Collection Management and Development
Falvey Library, Villanova University
800 Lancaster Avenue
Villanova , PA , 19085
RMC
610-519-7966


mstein Merrill Stein
Team Leader - Assessment and Liaison Team Leader for Geography and Political Science
Falvey Library, Villanova University
800 Lancaster Avenue
Villanova , PA , 19085
Room 221
610-519-4272


July 22nd
This week readers will find: newly digitized Dime novels and story paper issues. As well look for more National Defender issues from the Historical Society of Montgomery County. And of import examine an “appeal for funding” pamphlet from the A…
July 22nd
“Growth is never by mere chance; it is the result of forces working together.” James Cash Penney (1875-1971), founder of J. C. Penney stores.   Photo by Alice Bampton, Communication and Service Promotion team. Like11 People Like This Post
July 21st
  The United States Senate confirmed Carla Hayden, PhD, the CEO of Enoch Pratt Free Library in Baltimore, Md., as the fourteenth Librarian of Congress. Hayden is the first woman Librarian of Congress, the first African American Librarian of Congress …
July 21st
Our latest Distributed Proofreaders project is another novel by prolific 19th-century author Mrs. Alex. McVeigh Miller. The Senator’s Bride was written early in Mrs. Miller’s career, during her time living and working in Washington, D. C. Whil…
July 19th
The Fall 2015 semester saw the launch of “Changing Landscapes: People and Places in the Mill Creek Valley, Lower Merion c.1870-c.1920 another collaboration with Dr. Craig Bailey’s junior history research seminar. Each student selected a p…

 


Last Modified: Tuesday, August 11th, 2015